Auction 140, Lot 840

"Carte Generale de l'Australie, et de la Partie Sud-Ouest de l'Oceanie", Brue, Adrien Hubert

Subject: Australia & New Zealand

Period: 1859 (circa)


Color: Hand Color

20 x 14.5 inches
50.8 x 36.8 cm

This is a terrific and attractive map of "New Holland" which includes New Zealand, New Guinea, and many smaller islands of the East Indies. The coastal detail is exceptional with a large number of place names. The interior is virtually blank, and Australia is comprised of six divisions, namely North, East, South, West, Tasmania, and Victoria. An inset of the southeast coast (Partie de la Colonie de la nouvelle Galles Meridionale) is at top left and has a key below locating 48 political divisions. The inset locates Sydney, Port Macquarie, Port Jackson, Port Hunter, Port Stephens, Botany Bay, and extends into the interior well west of the Blue Mountains. Other tables surrounding the map identify the political divisions in western Australia and Tasmania (Ile de Diemen). A second inset at bottom locates Macquarie, Auckland, and Campbell Islands. This map was greatly updated from the original 1826 edition. Surrounded by a decorative keyboard-style border.


Condition: B+

Original outline color with light offsetting and a few unobtrusive spots.

Estimate: $250 - $300

Sold for: $130

Closed on 5/23/2012